USAO News Bureau

USAO initiates 21 into freshman honor society

Tuesday, April 16, 2013


CHICKASHA -- Exceptional first year students at the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma were honored April 2 as they were initiated into Alpha Lambda Delta -- a national honor society for college freshmen.


The luncheon honored 21 students at the college.


“These students represent the best of our freshman class,” said Dr. Peter Thomas, associate professor of education/science and faculty advisor for the honor society. “We’re very proud of these students and their achievements.”


Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD) was formed in 1924 at the University of Illinois as a national scholastic honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence among first year students.


ALD is open to full-time freshmen students who earn a grade point average of 3.5 or better at a four-year college or university.


Today, the organization has more than 260 chapters throughout the United States and more than 850,000 students have been initiated into membership since the first chapter was started more than 85 years ago.


Alpha Lambda Delta emphasizes that educated persons have a responsibility to "have tolerance in your dealings with all persons, generosity in giving to those in need, and insight into the feelings of others," said Dr. Glenda Earwood, executive director of the organization.


Dr. Dex Marble, vice president for academic affairs, gave an introduction to the ceremony at USAO. Dr. Dan Hanson, professor of music, provided entertainment on piano.


The initiation of new members was conducted by ALD officers Bailey Grogg, a junior political science major from Midwest City and Kylie Clark, a sophomore elementary education major from Tulsa.


The following students were initiated into Alpha Lambda Delta:


Anadarko – Allison McGlothlin

Broken Arrow – Jennifer Cornett

Chickasha – Christine Butler, Connor Cheek, Jordan Danser, Sarah Dreschler, Shelby Hoover, Dao Thong Lim, Magdalene Tsonetokoy, Braxdan Turner, Amanda Zink

Duncan – Taylor Smith

Elgin – Johnathon Reil

Midwest City – Sara Fugate    

Mustang – Britni Ford

Oklahoma City – Ashlee Brown, Lauren Rickman

Tulsa – Maïte’ Miller

Valliant – Jennifer Stewart


Out of Country


Glasgow, Scotland – Ryan Clougherty  

Zheleznodorzhny, Russia – Linda Savinova